top of page

Captain's Log - Part 8

Funny thing happened to me the other day…

Catan is tied up at a small municipal marina in LaBelle Florida, when a blue corvette slows down, stops, this fellows waves at me and then jumps out of his car to talk to me; his name was Randy. Randy is a snowbird retiree from Sarnia, saw the Canadian flag, saw that our home port was Gananoque and wanted to say hello and learn our story. There have been many similar encounters with strangers wanting to understand how this Canadian boat got down to Florida. These folks are obviously not boaters/loopers and consequently tend to be quite amazed with our looping adventure.

Catan tied up in Labelle FL

That same day…funny thing happened to me walking down the dock…

I met a new hero of sorts - I met Mel. Assuming the definition of a “hero” is something like “what I want to be when I grow up”, then Mel fits the bill!

Mel is 93 years old and his wife Mary Lou is 80+ years old. Mel has loved boating his whole adult life and Mary Lou enjoys the adventure and takes care of Mel. These two are quite a couple, they met 28 years ago at a marina (then both recently widowed). These two certified adventurers are both sharp as a tack and fiercely independent.

For example, two years ago they had a 16’ sail boat and sailed it from Fort Myers across Florida (via Lake Okeechobee) to the east coast, south down to the Florida Keys, then back up the west coast returning to Fort Meyers. Think about it…91 year old skipper transiting some 600 miles in a 16’ sailboat…OMG! After hearing this story, I was both gobsmacked and in total awe.

Mel retired in 1983. Mary Lou says that Mel is slowing down these days (gosh, I feel like I am slowing down these days). I asked Mel why boating has figured so prominently in his life. His response is that 1) it keeps him busy, 2) meeting new people, 3) the joy of discovering what is around the bend, and 4) no two days are the same. I suspect much credit to Mel’s longevity and zest for life is founded in Mary Lou. She has a smile that lights up a room and I sense a heart full of love and patience. She is a real crafty person. She brought over a beaded bracelet for Alison and a tiny blue knitted hat for our grandson, Orson. She is also busy quilting aboard and often knits two hats daily.

This couple currently live on their 26’ pocket trawler for months at a time. It is no surprise their boat name is “Rascal”. This small scale trawler is mechanically simple, light and small, lending it to be a perfect fit for this elderly couple. Another advantage of a pocket trawler is that you can put it on a trailer and tow it to your boating destination. See below.

Later that same day, I am sitting on the fly bridge of Catan…

I cannot help but reflect upon my two random, contrasting conversations with Randy and Mel today. Randy’s conversation with me concluded with him saying “...wow, what an exciting adventure, good for you.” When we complete our loop in May 2017, Alison and I will regard this adventure as one of our biggest life achievements. In the same breath ironically, I cannot help but think about Mel and Mary Lou…I have never personally met anyone like them; I found their retirement story incredibly eye opening and inspirational. Consequently, my conversation with Mel concluded with me saying “…should I live to 93 years old, I could only hope to be as engaged with life and in good health as you”. Should we live until Mel’s age, it is absolutely crazy to imagine the opportunities before us…we hopefully have 36 more years to enjoy the icing on our life cake… a life well lived, God willing.

Stay tuned for more adventures…


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page